Civitas Ensemble: Celebration of the Year of the Ram with Two World Premieres | Chinese Fine Arts Society

by Project Pengyou on March 15th, 2015   828 views

When and Where

  • 15/03/2015
    3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

  • Music Institute of Chicago Nichols Hall
    Nichols Concert Hall 1490 Chicago Avenue Evanston, IL 60201
    United States
    (get map)

Civitas Ensemble: Celebration of the Year of the Ram with Two World Premieres | Chinese Fine Arts Society

Event Details

The Civitas Ensemble, in collaboration with the Chinese Fine Arts Society, will present a concert featuring works by all Chinese composers. Included will be two World Premieres: “The Five Elements,” by Pulitzer Prize Winner Zhou Long, commissioned by CFAS for the Civitas Ensemble, and “Emantations of Tara” by Yao Chen, a previous CFAS composition competition winner.

Join us on March 15 at 3 pm as Civitas Ensemble celebrates the Chinese Year of the Ram with an entire program of music by Chinese composers at Nichols Concert Hall in Evanston.


The concert will begin with the world premiere of renowned Pulitzer Prize winning composer Zhou Long’s Five Elements with Five Movements, commissioned by the Chinese Fine Arts Society and written for Civitaswhich accentuates the harmonious union of East and West.  The program will close with a second world premiere — Emanations of Tara —which was written for Civitas and Pipa, the traditional Chinese instrument, by Yao Chen and supported with an award from the Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University.  This performance will be accompanied by an experimental non-narrative documentary on Tara, a Tibetan goddess, which offers reflections on the cycles of life.

This special program is co-presented by the Chinese Fine Arts Society.  Please join us. Program:

To the Four Corners (Scene I)              Huang Ruo

Five Elements with Five Movements   Zhou Long

Roundabouts                                       Anthony Cheung

Emanations of Tara                             Yao Chen

directed by Fen Lin


Guest artists joining Civitas members for the afternoon are Cheng-Hou Lee, cello, Eugenia Moliner, flute, Weijing Wang, viola, Yang Wei, pipa, Vadim Karpinos, percussion.

Student tickets are offered at no charge, but reservations are required. A pre-concert talk will be held at 2pm and, as always, we will host a post-concert reception for all concert goers.



Loading Map....

You might also be interested in

Project Pengyou is building the first social
network for people with firsthand China

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *